launch jukebox


Zealous Records Presents Soul Sides Volume One


In a ground-breaking partnership, Zealous Records has teamed up with mega-blog to produce the foremost collection of rare soul music ever compiled, Soul Sides Volume One.

Oliver Wang, freelance writer (NPR, Spin, Vibe, URB, Wax Poetics) and's host has scoured his vaults to bring the world the cream of his collection. MP3 Blogs have become the premier source for audio lovers to discover new music and the tastemakers of modern American culture. Soul Sides Volume One releases not only a treasure trove of incredible soul music, but also advances the audioblog medium to new heights.

From Donny Hathaway’s bittersweet rendition of John Lennon's "Jealous Guy", to Aretha’s little known sister Erma Franklin's original recording of "Take A Piece Of My Hart", to Lee Moses' masterpiece "Time and Place", Soul Sides Volume One is the quintessential collection of raw and passionate soul music.

In an attempt to pay homage to the artists on this compilation, a portion of proceeds from Soul Sides Volume One will be donated to The Rhythm and Blues Foundation. This charity provides financial assistance to R&B artists of the 50's, 60's and 70's. These artists provided the foundation for all contemporary music and are crucial figures in the roots of American culture. Unfortunately, due mainly to unscrupulous record company policies of the era, many of these legendary artists are now penniless with no health insurance, retirement fund, or source of income.

Track Listing

1. "Keep My Baby Warm" - Charles and Annette May Thomas (FULL)
2. "Masterpiece" - Clarence Reid
3. "Time and Place" - Lee Moses
4. "(I Ain't Singing) No More Sad Songs" - Amanda Ambrose
5. "Piece of My Heart" - Erma Franklin
6. "Jealous Guy" - Donny Hathaway
7. "What A Man" - Linda Lyndell (FULL)
8. "Live and Let Live" - Jimmy Jones
9. "You're Gonna Miss Me" - Ann Sexton
10. "Lovin' You" - Johnny "Guitar" Watson
11. "Ordinary Guy" - Joe Bataan
12. "Morning Sunrise" - Weldon Irvine
13. "I Forgot To Be Your Lover" - William Bell
14. "All Over Again" - Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings (FULL)